A brief introduction of Indian Railway

Indian Railways

Minister of Railways Suresh Prabhu(Political Party: BJP )
Chairman Railway Board A.K. Mital
  • A state-owned organization of the Ministry of Railways.

  • Fourth largest railway network in the world (after USA, Russia, and China).
  • The country’s first railway, built by the Great Indian Peninsula Railway opened in 1853, between Bombay and Thane.
  • Nationalized in 1951 as one unit The Indian Railways.
  • Comprising 115,000 km of track over a route of 67,312 km and 7,112 stations.
  • It covers twenty-nine states and three union territories and also provides limited service to Nepal, Bangladesh, and Pakistan (and planning to install a rail system in southern Bhutan).
  • The broad gauge is the majority and original standard gauge in India under Project Unigauge.

  • The apex body to run the Indian Railways is the Railway Board under the Ministry of Railways. The board is headed by a Chairman who reports to the Minister of Railways. The board has five other members in addition to the chairman. The General Managers of the zonal railways and the production units report to the board

  • Indian Railways is divided into 16 zones and one subzone:
Railway Zones
SN Estd. Year Railway Zone Headquarter Divisions
1. 1951 Southern Railway (SR) Chennai Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, and Salem, Palakkad,Thiruvananthapuram
2. 1951 Central Railway (CR) Mumbai Mumbai,CST, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur and
3. 1951 Western Railway (WR) Mumbai Mumbai,Central, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot,
Bhavnagar and Vadodara
4. 1952 Eastern Railway (ER) Kolkata Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and Malda Town
5. 1952 Northern Railway (NR) Delhi Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR and
6. 1952 North Eastern Railway (NER) Gorakhpur Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER and Varanasi
7. 1955 South Eastern Railway (SER) Kolkata Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur and Ranchi
8. 1958 Northeast Frontier Railway (NF) Maligaon, Guwahati Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangia, Lumding and
9. 1966 South Central Railway (SCR) Secunderabad Vijayawada, Secunderabad, Guntakal, Guntur,
Hyderabad and Nanded
10. 2002 East Central Railway (ECR) Hajipur Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur
and  Sonpur
11. 2002 North Western Railway (NWR) Jaipur Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner and Jodhpur
12. 2003 East Coast Railway (ECoR) Bhubaneswar Khurda Road, Sambalpur and Visakhapatnam
13. 2003 North Central Railway (NCR) Allahabad Allahabad, Agra and Jhansi
14. 2003 South East Central Railway (SECR) Bilaspur Bilaspur, Raipur and Nagpur
15. 2003 South Western Railway (SWR) Hubli Hubli, Bangalore, Mysore and Gulbarga
16. 2003 West Central Railway (WCR) Jabalpur Jabalpur, Bhopal and Kota
  • First Zone created was Southern Railway (SR) Headquarter- Chennai 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: